Season Summary: 2007

Season 2007 saw the arrival of Cameron Lockwood and Dean Limbach at Pt. Gellibrand, and the departures of former captain Brad Lloyd (retired), assistant coach Rayden Tallis (retired), Dean Galea (West Adelaide), Jackson Barling (West Adelaide), Jeremy Dukes, Stephen Brewer, Matthew Pearce (all Port Melbourne) and Heath Lawry (Central Districts in SA). 2006 Liston Medal and Gerry Callahan Medal runner-up, Brett Johnson, was appointed the new captain of the Seagulls in just his second season at the Club, replacing Lloyd. Andrew Williams and Steven Greene were joint vice-captains.

Former Fitzroy player and Collingwood 1990 premiership player, Doug Barwick, joined the Club as assistant coach in this season. 

The season commenced with a comfortable win over Werribee, 17.15.117 to 9.10.64, while Brad Gotch’s 100th game as coach came in round 2 when the game against Port was drawn at 13.15.93 apiece, the seventh occasion that this has occurred. This made Gotch the third longest-serving coach behind the legendary Gerry Callahan and dual-premiership winner Gordon Ogden. Port had led by 27 points at the 11-minute mark of the last quarter before the Seagulls rallied to boot the last four goals of the game. At the final siren the scoreboard showed the Borough ahead by 4 points even though both coaches believed Port had won by a point. After the goal umpires conferred the result was determined to be a draw. Newcomer, Dean Limbach, booted six goals. 

Remarkably, the round 3 clash with Casey ended in yet another draw at 15.15.105 each. Then, after ten rounds, Williamstown had seven wins, one loss and the two draws and were sitting on top of the ladder. Four losses in a row ensued over rounds 12-15 against Geelong, Casey, Coburg and Sandringham.

The team bounced back in the round 19 clash at Port Melbourne, with 35yo Collingwood champion Nathan Buckley making his second appearance for the Seagulls (the first was against Box Hill in 2005), with a huge win, 26.13.169 to Port’s 7.12.54. Buckley picked up 29 possessions and kicked a goal in each quarter while Magpie teammate, Paul Licuria, also stood out with 34 disposals. 

To see highlights of Nathan Buckley playing for Williamstown in the game at Port Melbourne click on the following link:

At the completion of the home-and-away rounds, the team finished in fourth place with 10 wins, six losses and two draws. The Reserves also ended up in fourth spot on the ladder with 12 wins, 5 defeats and one draw.


In the qualifying final played at the Trevor Barker Beach Oval, Williamstown triumphed 17.11.113 to Sandringham’s 16.15.111 in a thriller. However, in the preliminary at North Port Oval, Coburg were too strong and won 20.17.137 to 11.10.76 to end the season for ‘Town, after the Seagulls had a three-goal lead at half time that should have been at least double.

The Seconds won their elimination final by six goals, downing Box Hill 24.11.155 to 18.12.120, and were also victorious in the first semi over Werribee 21.19.145 to 17.15.117. However, Port proved superior in the preliminary final winning 17.10.112 to 8.10.58, thus bringing down the curtain on Anthony Eames’ remarkable tenure as coach of the Reserves, guiding them to five grand finals in the six seasons from 2002-2007 which produced three premiership flags.

During the year, former player (1946 2 games), life member, committeeman from 1969-81 and Club secretary 1982-83, Les Goding, passed away on April 1, aged 79. Les made his senior debut as an 18yo and won the Seconds best and fairest in 1946 and played in the Seconds premiership in 1948. Ernest ‘Junior’ Jackson also passed away at the age of 77 in July. Junior, as he was universally known, was a former Seconds player and was President of the Club in 1981 and the early part of 1982 after being secretary in 1978 and 1979. He was also a committeeman in 1976-77 and the Club's VFA delegate from 1977-85. Former player (1971-80, 96 games 11 goals), 1979 best and fairest winner, 1980 captain and life member, Neil Courtot, passed away on July 4 after a short illness, aged just 53. 

Also, the alignment agreement with Collingwood came to an end at the completion of the season after seven years, when the Magpies elected to run their own stand-alone team in the VFL from the following season.

Andrew Williams was once again the Club’s leading goalkicker for the year, while Ben Davies took out the Gerry Callahan Medal from Sam Iles. Matthew Miller won the Bill Sheahan Memorial Trophy for the Reserves best and fairest. Matty Cravino was awarded the Ron James Memorial Trophy for most valuable player, while Dr Jason Chan was voted best clubman and the Bill 'Darkie' Raffle Memorial Trophy winner. 

Scoreboard attendant for the past 27 seasons, Noel Portingale, stood down at the end of the year for health reasons. 

                                                         Williamstown's 2007 playing list

Brett Johnson took over the captaincy from Brad Lloyd in 2007.

                                 2007 recruit Dean Limbach from Richmond AFL

Collingwood-listed player Paul Licuria kicked the winning goal in the qualifying

final against Sandringham at Trevor Barker Beach Oval on September 1

Brad Gotch coached Williamstown for the 100th time in the round 2 draw with Port at Williamstown


Williamstown coach Brad Gotch was awarded VFL life membership after coaching his 175th competition game in the round 10 clash with the Northern Bullants at Pt Gellibrand on June 17, which Williamstown won 16.20.116 to 5.6.36

Collingwood legend Nathan Buckley played his second and final game for Williamstown against Port in

the round 19 clash at North Port Oval on August 18, kicking four goals and being named best-on-ground.

Nathan Buckley in action against Port Melbourne in round 19

Collingwood's Simon Prestigiacomo also played for Williamstown in round 19 

Liam Picken and Nathan Buckley celebrate the 115-point victory at Port Melbourne in round 19 

                                                     Trevor Monti, president of Williamstown from 1999.

Reserves preliminary final team list v. Port Melbourne 

Andrew Williams led the senior goalkicking in 2007 


Latest News

VFL Round 14 Match Report

The Bombers get the better of the Seagulls by 38 points

Read more ...

VFL Round 14 Team- vs Essendon

The Seagulls have named their Round 13 side to take on the Bombers

Read more ...

Up & Running Podiatry Injury Report

Catch up with all the injury news across the VFL

Read more ...

Ticketing information vs Essendon

Tickets for this weeks game against the Bombers

Read more ...

VFL Round 13 Match Report

Williamstown were out-classed by the Swans on Sunday

Read more ...

Latest Videos